Disable Google Photos Sync or Stop Auto Backup of Google Photos

This post is specifically created if you want to disable Google photos sync or stop uploading photos from your phone’s gallery to your Google Photos account.

Google Photos is a part of Google service along with Gmail, Google Maps, Google Drive, Google Duo, Google Play Music, etc.

Basically, it is an online photo storage and photo sharing service from Google. This allows users to store their pictures or images clicked from their smartphones.

Google Photos gives users free storage for videos with up to 1080p resolutions and photos up to 16 megapixels.

Whenever a user is signed in on their Android or iOS device using a Google account. By default, Google photos sync is enabled and the Phone’s Gallery photos can be uploaded automatically.

Even if a user doesn’t know that the photos they are clicking from their device, it’s going automatically to their Google photos account. Later they come to know that all of their photos are synced

Disable Google Photos Sync

Don’t worry, if you do not want Google Photos to back up or sync your gallery photos, we can tell you the easy steps by which you can disable or turn off Google photos sync.

The following steps have been done on Android version 12 on the OnePlus device. The steps will be similar to iOS devices as well if the photos app is connected to your Google account.

Follow these steps to turn off auto back up for Google photos from the gallery using smartphones:

Step 1. Open your Google Photos app on your Android or iOS device.

Step 2. Tap the Profile Picture Icon from the top right and you will see certain options.

Select Photos settings from the given list.

Step 3. Once you get into the Google photos settings, the very first option will be for Backup or Back up & sync.

Tap on it and you will see a slider button, slide to left to turn it off.

disable Google photos syncAs a result, the back up sync settings for your Google photos account will be turned off immediately.

Note: The images and photos that have been synced previously will be there in Google Photos storage.

Once the sync is disabled, that means now onwards, the Google photos app will stop uploading photos from your phone’s gallery to online storage, like here: https://photos.google.com/

In the future, if your device is connected to the internet and you make the back up & sync setting turned on. This means that all photos and images will be synced to your Google photos account automatically.

[Read: Download Duplicate Photo Finder for Windows – Full Version]

Remove the Google Photos App

Very Important: Certainly, you have turned off Google photos sync settings, but still, photos can be seen on your Google photos app on your mobile device. However, photos will not be uploaded until you turn on the photo sync settings.

If you do not want to see gallery photos on the Google photos app then you need to remove the photos app from your device.

stop google photos automatic uploadDisable, Turn off or Stop Google Photos Sync Click To Tweet

Share this post to help others!!

Leave a Reply